How to run BIOS locked VM in HCI

FabioA Lv1Posted 10 Jul 2024 17:41

Hello, I'm new to HCI and I'm testing some feature before migrating my customers' servers from ESXI to HCI.
I need to import existing VMs, installed in ESXI with BIOS locked HPE image, I can't find any KB that explains how to bring to VM's OS the vendor's name stored in HW's BIOS. In ESXI it's easily solved changing a parameter in advanced VM's configuration. Is there a way to do the same in HCI?
Thanks in advance.
Fabio.

Enrico Vanzetto has solved this question and earned 20 coins.

Posting a reply earns you 2 coins. An accepted reply earns you 20 coins and another 10 coins for replying within 10 minutes. (Expired) What is Coin?

Enter your mobile phone number and company name for better service. Go

HI, you mean that these virtual machines (that their virtual bios settings are protected witn a password) are appliance made from hp? if yes, migrating them to hci will change a lot of virtual hardware (even virtual bios is different). I suggest you to clone one of these virtual machine on your esxi environment and perform some test about removing virtual bios lock before migrating to hci.
Is this answer helpful?
Enrico Vanzetto Lv4Posted 17 Jul 2024 16:13

HI, you mean that these virtual machines (that their virtual bios settings are protected witn a password) are appliance made from hp? if yes, migrating them to hci will change a lot of virtual hardware (even virtual bios is different). I suggest you to clone one of these virtual machine on your esxi environment and perform some test about removing virtual bios lock before migrating to hci.
jerome_itable Lv3Posted 17 Jul 2024 17:18

While it is possible to import VMs from ESXi with BIOS-locked HPE images to Sangfor HCI,

directly modifying VM BIOS settings is generally not recommended on production systems. It can lead to unexpected behavior or instability.

However, there are alternative approaches you can consider to achieve the desired outcome: